Overnight Oats Parfait or Breakfast Soup.

Good Morning, Houston!
81 degrees, and 90% humidity at 8AM.

REALLY HOUSTON?

I’m off to band practice shortly, but wanted to share the results of my very first Overnight Oats Parfait.
This recipe is adapted from the original Oh She Glows version. I didn’t have everything on hand, so I improvised!
During Houston summers, I crave cold breakfasts to give me a needed jolt in the morning.

I’m not really a b-fast cereal kind of girl, but BOY did that change this morning.

Before I went to bed last night, I mixed up the following recipe:

1/2 C Rolled Oats
1 Cup Almond Milk
1 Packet Truvia Sweetener

Off it went into the fridge with plastic wrap, and off I went to bed.

I woke up to find this.

I may have gotten a little too…liberal with my almond milk application last night.
I LOVE Almond Milk. It’s a problem. A really good one.

Next time I’ll use 1/2 Cup Rolled Oats, and then even amounts of Greek Yogurt and Almond Milk.
I’ll post the new results this week.

Anyways.

So I whipped up a batch of chocolate-banana softserve in the food processor.
This is one of my favorite Oh She Glows recipes, and the recipe will be my afternoon post today!

Here is the end result! It’s a bit soupy, so I think that on my next run I will stick to the original recipe of oats, milk, AND yogurt in matching quantities.

OH MAN.


It’s crying out to be eaten.
Yes, I think I WILL!

Comments
2 Responses to “Overnight Oats Parfait or Breakfast Soup.”
  1. Mary Hamala says:

    Hi Lindsey,

    Looks good! How many calories are there in the breakfast parfait?

    Mary

    • Mary,

      It IS good! Here is the nutritional breakdown:

      350 Calories
      9 g Fat
      65 Carbs
      14 G FIBER!
      15 g Sugar
      11 g Protein

      Also, the parfait has 25% of your RDA of Calcium and Iron! It also has triple duty staying power. The combination of healthy fats, filling fiber, and sustaining protein make this a great choice for a morning meal.
      I will be tweaking the liquids in the recipe to make it a bit thicker and more oatmeal-like, versus a “morning soup”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

