Pumpkin Brownie Layer Cakes

Okay, I get it. Here we are, dead in the middle of July, and I’m baking up fall treats?
It’s was around 98 degrees all weekend, and I spent it at the beach….with my husband and in laws.

Mostly, I tried not to sweat….everywhere.

Regardless of the temperature, sometimes a girl just needs copious amounts of chocolate…and, okay… pumpkin pie.

Oh boy.

Things can get a little crazy with a woman and her cravings, right?
RIGHT.
Prepare yourself.

Since neither are an option for me in…high volume, what’s a girl to do?

Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you…THE SOLUTION.

This is an adaptation of one of my new favorites from Angela Liddoon at Oh She Glows.
Angela is a genius in the kitchen, so this recipe was perfect as is.
Even so, I adapted it slightly to fit my raging craving. Oh boy.

And….
Best of all?
One cake runs around 130 calories, with 4 grams of fiber and 3 grams of protein.

I’LL TAKE IT!

Pumpkin Brownie Bottom Layer:

1 cup canned pumpkin
1/2 cup + 3 tbsp brown sugar
1/4 cup canola oil
3/4 cup white kamut flour (or white)
1.5 tsp pure vanilla extract
1.5 tsp coconut extract
1 tbs chocolate extract (optional)
1 tbsp cornstarch (or arrowroot/tapioca)
1/3 cup dutch processed cocoa powder
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp baking soda

Chocolate Pumpkin Pie Layer:

1 cup canned pumpkin
2 tbsp cornstarch (or arrowroot/tapioca)
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/3 cup sugar
3 tbsp almond milk
2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or 1 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp nutmeg)

Pre-heat your oven to 350°, and grease mini-bundt pan or muffin tin.
I use non-stick cooking spray, and they turn out perfectly each time.

 For brownie layer:
In a stand mixer or by hand, mix together the canola oil, pumpkin, extracts, and sugar until blended well.
Sift in the flour, cocoa powder, cornstarch, baking, soda, sea salt and mix until incorporated.
Take about 2 tbsp of the mixture and place in muffin/bundt tin.
Wet fingers and pat down evenly so it is smooth. I made 11 mini-bundt cakes.

For pumpkin layer:
In a large bowl mix together the pumpkin, vanilla, and milk.
Add in the cornstarch, sugar, and pumpkin pie spice.
Whisk until the clumps are gone.
Now add approx 1.5-2 tbsp of the pumpkin pie mixture on top of each brownie in the pan.

Bake for 20 minutes at 350F. Remove from oven and cool for 20-30 minutes and then move to the fridge to chill for 1.5 hours.

Get ready, my Galeons!

Tomorrow I will be posting the next part in the “Weighty Subject” series.

Bon Apetit.

Leave a Reply

