High Protein Berry Quinoa Salad

What gives, Lindsey?
Super busy week + getting ready for a trip + my camera is broken = bad for the blog.

No excuses though. I am here to redeem myself.

Ladies and Gentlemen, I give to you a gift.
Again, I realize that I might have sort of an unhealthy obsession with Angela Liddon’s creations, but there are worse things to be obsessed with.
Think about that topic for a few minutes, and get YO TASTEBUDS ready!

So we’re back.
Back on topic.

*Ahem*- so about this gift.


BOOM.

You know by now how much I (words stronger than) dislike turning on my oven in the summer, so any dish that is served cold wins in my book. This salad is absolutely packed with nutrients, protein, and fiber, and looks amazing on a summer picnic table!
Thank you, magic of quinoa!

Lesson time!
Quinoa is pronounced “keen-wah”.
Find out everything you ever wanted to know about this stinkin’ awesome complete protein here.

On a side note, Jared liked this salad, and it was a huge boost for him after deciding he was going to eat vegetarian for a month. (??)
Who is this man?

Here are the players:

3/4 cup dry quinoa
1 pint strawberries, sliced (2.5-3 cups)
16 oz. fresh blueberries (1.5-2 cups)
1 cup cherries, pitted and sliced
2 tbsp pure maple syrup (or other liquid sweetener)
1 tsp balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp fresh lime juice (I used lemon!)
Pinch of salt
2 TBS Soaked Chia Seeds (makes a nutritious gel)

MAKE IT HAPPEN

1. Cook quinoa. Go on, give it some space.

2. Chop the fruit and drop it in a big, pretty bowl.

3. Mix the maple syrup, balsamic, lime/lemon juice, salt, and soaked chia in a small bowl and adjust to taste if necessary.

4. Fluff cooked quinoa with a fork and add to large bowl with fruit. Combine everything. Try not to inhale the bowl while you are standing over the counter “pretending” to work.

The original OSG version of this recipe calls for chopped almonds, but I was FROSH out! I added the Chia for extra nutrients!


So back to OBSESSIONS…

What are your healthy/not so bad Obsessions??
Keep it clean, people! Leave yours in the comments below.

Stay tasty, girls! (okay, and guys.)

Comments
2 Responses to “High Protein Berry Quinoa Salad”
  1. Raina says:

    Wow! That is one tasty recipie and my first time trying Quinoa even though it’s been in the pantry for over a year. I didn’t have chia seeds and forgot to put almonds in it at first. I think I like it better without the almonds and plan to get the chia seeds that I have been hearing so much about. My only disappoinment is that I already ate dinner so I’ll have to wait until tomorrow to enjoy this amazing treat. Does it keep well? Thanks for sharing and love Angela Liddon’s site also!

    • Raina, I’m glad you liked it! I loved it too. ha! I ate on it for like four days. The flavors got better, but the quinoa turned bright red! Ha…. actually it was almost pinkish.
      Definitely try the chia seeds. They are so yummy in overnight oats, and add interesting texture to lots of dishes.Good to connect with you again lady!

Leave a comment